User Management

When you start using N-sight RMM, you are given an Agent Key with full system access, to sign in to the N-sight RMM Dashboard. In addition to the Agent Key, we recommend you add a user account for each staff member and define what each user can do and view in the N-sight RMM Dashboard using:

  • Client Groups — a Client Group defines which Client's information is displayed to certain users in the N-sight RMM Dashboard
  • Roles and Permissions — Default System Roles and Custom Roles determine what certain users have permission to do in the N-sight RMM Dashboard

You can also create user accounts for Clients. To create a Client user, you create a Client Group with only that one client added to it and then assign the user the Client Default System Role or a Client Custom Role.

You can create and manage as many N-sight RMM Dashboard users as you need for staff members and for Clients. When you add a new user, they are sent a verification email with a link to set their password. Users can manage their own user details, email (username), and password without administrative assistance.

Actions performed by an N-sight RMM Dashboard user, or any Dashboard Notes they create, are recorded in the User Audit Report. For example clearing Checks, adding Checks or features, and logging into the Dashboard are recorded in the report.

Although you can change the Agent Key username and password, Agent Key is not a Default System Role you can assign. As an extra security precaution, you can disable Agent Key user Dashboard access to force all users to login to the N-sight RMM Dashboard with their own user account.