Roles and Permissions

You can use Roles and Permissions to customize N-sight RMM Dashboard access for each user type. You can use the default System Roles, or you can create your own custom roles to define roles that meet your requirements. For example, you can create feature specialist roles, roles for the finance team, or basic roles for contractors.

Roles and Permissions is only enabled for users with the Superuser role, the Agent Key (if N-sight RMM Dashboard access is enabled), and users with a custom role that has the Users permissions configured.

The Roles and Permissions dialog lists the currently configured roles in the left panel with the permissions for the selected role in the right panel. In the list of roles, you can see if the role is a System Role, or if it is a custom role based on a System Role.

You can manually resize the Roles and Permissions dialog using the cursor on the edge of the dialog, and you can resize the panels by placing the cursor on the panel divider and move it right or left.

System Roles and custom roles

You can use the following System Roles with their defined permissions:

  • Superuser—full system access with all permissions enabled (except for Product Keys)
  • Administrator—system access to all features except user management and billing information
  • Standard—system access with mixed permissions; mostly concerned with viewing items and using features
  • Client— basic system access with permissions for specific Client management and view options

You can also create your own custom roles and use either a System Role, or an existing custom role, as your base to customize the permissions you need:

Type of Custom Role Action
Based on a System Role
  • You select the target System Role and click Add a Role
  • The new role is created using all the permissions of the specified System Role
  • You customize the permissions to meet your requirements
Based on an existing custom role
  • You select the target existing role and click Clone a Role
  • The new role is created using all the permissions of the cloned role
  • You customize the permissions to meet your requirements

You can edit and delete custom roles as your user role needs change.