Edit a Custom Role

You can edit a custom role to update the name and change the permissions.

Roles and Permissions is only enabled for users with the Superuser role, the Agent Key (if N-sight RMM Dashboard access is enabled), and users with a custom role that has the Users permissions configured.

To edit a custom role:

  1. On the N-sight RMM Dashboard, go to Settings > Users > Roles and Permissions
  2. Click the role you want to edit (it highlights in blue)
  3. Click in the Name column to edit the name for the role (optional)

    Name or Based on edits are indicated by a red triangle in the corner of the field. Permission edits are indicated with a pink background.

  4. Click in the Based on column to edit the System Role you want to use as a permissions template (optional)

    If you edit the Based on column and select a System Role, all the permissions for the role will change to the default permissions for the selected System Role.

  5. Modify the permissions by selecting or deselecting the radio button for each permission. For a description of each permission, hover over the permission or see Default System Role Permissions.

    If a role is currently in use, permission changes are applied the next time the user logs in.

    You can edit permissions in bulk using the groups or subgroups.

  6. Click Save