Add Dashboard Users

When you have multiple users who log in to the Dashboard, we recommend you assign each user their own unique username and password. This enables them to generate their own Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) access code and any of their substantive Dashboard actions can be tracked using the User Audit Report. A unique username also enables you to limit a specific user to only those Clients and sections they have direct responsibility for using Roles and Permissions and Client Groups.

In addition to staff users, you can add multiple Client level users via User Accounts dialog (Settings > Users> User Accounts) and assign a system or custom role as well as group. This option is in addition to the single user Edit Client > Dashboard Access dialog that defaults to the Client (Classic) role.

This section covers:

Add Dashboard Users

  1. Log into the Dashboard using an account with Users permissions enabled (for example, SuperUser)
  2. Go to Settings > Users > User Accounts
  3. Click Add User and configure the User Options (see below)
  4. Click Save and enter the password of the account you logged into the Dashboard with to confirm
User Options

Username

Enter an active and valid email address for the user to be their username.

2FA requires the user to verify their username (email address) using a verification email. Ensure all usernames in the system are active, valid email addresses.

Using an active and valid email address as the username ensures 2FA can be setup for a user account and they can manage their login (Password Reset) without administrative intervention.

Role

Select the level of access for the account from the drop-down with the following options available

Choose Manage roles. to Add Role, Clone Role, edit the details of a role (name and permission) or delete an unused role.

Staff Roles

Superuser

Superuser (Classic)

Administrator

Administrator  (Classic)

Standard

Standard  (Classic)

Custom Roles (based on a Staff role)

Client Roles

Client

Client (Classic)

Custom Roles (based on a Client role)

Client Groups

Select the required Client Group (list of Clients the User can access)

Choose Manage Groups to Add Client Group, change Group details (name and Client members) or delete a Group. Save to apply changes.

After setup we recommend you log in with the Client level login to ensure only that specific customer's devices are visible.

Client User—When you set up Client access to the Dashboard through the User Accounts dialog, ensure the user only has access to their own portion of the Dashboard through the use of Client Groups. For example, create a single Client Group with that one client and then apply it to the user.

Users only see Assets and Dashboard Reports (except for account wide User Audit Report and Remote Support Report) that are specific to their assigned Clients. For example, when a user selects All Clients from a Report drop-down, only the Reports for their Client Group are returned.

Since the Client Group drop-down is accessible to Superuser level logins, Agent Key (where Dashboard access is enabled), or a custom role with the required Users permissions configured, those users can change the Client Group associated with their own account.

Enable Agent Key user Dashboard access

As a security measure, you can disable or Enable Agent Key user Dashboard access at the bottom of the Users dialog. When it is disabled, the Staff Dashboard access is limited to Superuser, Administrator, Standard level (including Classic) or where the user has a custom role, although the Agent Key can still be used for Agent installations.

User Created Password

As an additional security precaution, when you create a new user on the Dashboard, an email with a set password link is sent to the entered username (email address) .

The password must be in the following format:

  • At least 8 characters in length
  • Contain no blank space characters
  • Have at least one uppercase, one lowercase and one numeric character
  • May contain special characters

The user password status is displayed in the P/W (Password) column. A green tick indicates that a Password is set . An empty tick indicates the Password is unset.

User drop-down

In addition to Password Reset, the User drop-down includes the option to Reset 2FA (Two-Factor Authentication), which forces the target user to reset their Two-Factor Authentication the next time they login to the Dashboard.

Client Dashboard Access

In addition to the User Accounts dialog, if a legacy Client Dashboard login was already configured via Edit Client> Dashboard Access you can still access to this dialog.

If there is not an Edit Client Dashboard Access login setup for the Client, you are pointed to the User Accounts and Client Groups settings.

2fa2_setup_user