Inactive Devices

As long as a device displays on the N-sight RMM Dashboard and has monitoring and features enabled for it, it is monitored by N-sight RMM regardless of whether the device uploads data to the Dashboard.

To avoid N-sight RMM reporting on devices that are on the N-sight RMM Dashboard but no longer in use, we recommend you delete those inactive devices from the N-sight RMM Dashboard.

When you delete a device from the N-sight RMM Dashboard, the Monitoring Agent is automatically deleted from the device.

Agents installed in or converted to Asset Tracking only (no checks or features) are not regarded as monitored.

To delete inactive devices from the N-sight RMM Dashboard:

Dashboard deletion or Agent Uninstalls are non-recoverable actions. Once confirmed, any information stored in relation to the Client, Site or Device(s) is instantly removed from the database and the data is unretrievable. Please verify the correct item is selected for removal before entering the password and confirming deletion.

  1. Log into the N-sight RMM Dashboard
  2. Go to the Servers, Workstations or Mixed pane and select one, or both, of the following options to filter the results:
    1. Select Last Response Over 30 Days from the device filter drop-down above the North-pane
    2. Sort by the Last Response column to easily see which devices have not recently checked in
  3. Sort by the Last Response column to easily see which devices have not recently checked in
  4. Multi-select the devices for removal (Shift and left-click for a range, Control and left-click for specific devices)
  5. Right-click one of the selected devices
  6. Select Delete <device_type> > Delete from Dashboard
  7. Verify the number of devices you are deleting, and if you want to unenroll any of the devices that are enrolled in Device Management for Apple, select Unenroll all selected devices from DMA
  8. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to confirm deletion
  9. Click OK to apply

Download a CSV of the custom filtered North-pane

You can export the North-pane device details to CSV when viewing a custom or "Last Response Over 30 Days" filter. The download option is grayed out for all other default system device views.

  1. Select the custom view from the Device filter drop-down above the North-pane in the Dashboard
  2. Once the view has loaded, click the download button to the right of the Device filter drop-down
  3. This initiates a download of a CSV file containing the filtered devices and their column details (regardless of the columns selected in the Dashboard)

Agent Management Options

In addition to the delete option, you can opt to remove a workstation when the Agent is reinstalled as well as configure the number of days of inactivity before a workstation is automatically deleted (minimum 60). Please be aware that workstations continue to be chargeable during this period of inactivity.

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Go to Settings > General Settings > Agent Management
  3. Under Agent Reinstallation
    1. Enable Automatically delete workstations from Dashboard if Agent is reinstalled
  4. Under Inactive Workstation
    1. Enable Automatically delete workstations from Dashboard if Agent is not uploading data
    2. Configure the number of days threshold figure
  5. Enter the removal notification period
  6. OK to save and apply

What do you want to do?