Asset Tracking Only requirements

Checks and Automated Tasks

Asset Tracking Only applies to devices without monitoring checks or Automated Tasks.

The only exemptions to this are Feature Checks and Automated Tasks that are added automatically when a feature is installed. If only these Feature Checks and Automated Tasks are running on the device it is classed as Asset Tracking Only.

Feature Checks

Feature checks are automatically added to monitor the state of specific features, and these feature checks are only added or removed when the feature is turned on or off. For example, when Patch Management is added to a device, the Patch Status Check is automatically added.

Features

The following features must be turned off or a device to be classed as Asset Tracking only:

  • Patch Management
  • Remote Background Management
  • Take Control (N-able or TeamViewer Engine)

If a device with Patch Management, Remote Background Management or Take Control enabled is turned off, it incurs a monitoring fee until removed and updated within the All Devices view. For example, if a feature is turned off and the device is Offline, the device is charged until the removal process is completed and reported back to the All Devices view.

24x7 Check Frequency

The device's 24x7 check frequency also determines whether it is classed as Asset Tracking only.

  • 30 minutes or slower for servers
  • 60 minutes or slower for workstations

Where the device uses a more frequent 24x7 Check schedule it is considered to have monitoring enabled, and not classed as Asset Tracking only.

A monthly monitoring fee is applied to a device as soon as it is classed as not Asset Tracking Only even if it is switched back to Asset Tracking Only shortly afterwards.

Devices registered under a Client with legacy Client Dashboard access enabled cannot be classed as Asset Tracking only.

The Client Dashboard access option is only available for Clients who already have it enabled. We recommend you turn off Client Dashboard Access in the "Edit Client" dialog.
After turning off legacy Client Dashboard Access, we recommend using Client Groups and Rules and permissions to maintain and control the Client's access to N-sight RMM. After the settings are configured, add User Accounts for the Client and associate these with the relevant Client Group. Client access configured through the Users dialog does not affect the Device's Asset Tracking Only status.

What do you want to do?