Apply the Asset Tracking Only Template to existing devices

Asset Tracking Only Monitoring Templates can be deployed from the Dashboard to one or more devices to remove any non-feature Checks and Automated Tasks.

Check and Task deletion is a non-recoverable action which removes both Checks and Tasks, along with their history, from the Dashboard and Agent.

The device will remain classed as monitored until the Checks, Automated Tasks (on workstations), Patch Management, Remote Background Management and Take Control (N-able or TeamViewer Engine) are removed from the device and it has updated in the Dashboard. For example, if the device is offline then it will be charged until it comes back online, the Asset Tracking Only template applied then the Checks, Tasks and Features removed.

Client and Site Level

  1. Right-click on the target Client or Site in the Client list
  2. Go to Apply Monitoring Template
  3. Choose the device type "Servers" or "Workstations"
  4. Select "Apply an Asset Tracking Only template", this automatically applies the required "Select update behavior" settings
  5. Alternatively, to apply a custom Asset Tracking Only template:
    1. Click "Select monitoring templates"
    2. Use the arrow button or drag and drop the template into "Selected Templates"
    3. Select "Replace the existing checks and tasks" in "Select update behavior"
  6. Only choose the Asset Tracking Only Monitoring Template for existing devices template under Available Templates.

  7. Click Apply then review the changes
  8. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to authorize

Individual and Multiple Devices

Apply Monitoring Template is not available where the selection contains a mixture of servers and workstations. For example when selected in the Mixed Dashboard view.

  1. Multi-select the target devices in the North-pane (Shift and left-click for a range, Control and left-click for specific machines)
  2. Right-click on one of the selection (or from the Servers or Workstations drop-down)
  3. Go to Apply Monitoring Template
  4. Choose the device type "Servers"or "Workstations"

  5. Select "Apply an Asset Tracking Only template", this automatically applies the required "Select update behavior" settings
  6. Alternatively, to apply a custom Asset Tracking Only template:
    1. Click "Select monitoring templates" is selected
    2. Use the arrow button or drag and drop the template into "Selected Templates"
    3. Select "Replace the existing checks and tasks" in "Select update behavior"
  7. Only choose the Asset Tracking Only Monitoring Template for existing devices template under Available Templates.

  8. Only choose the Asset Tracking Only Monitoring Template for existing devices template under Available Templates.
  9. Click Run and review the changes
  10. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard under to authorize

The following images show the dialogs when using "Apply an Asset Tracking Only template" or .

Feature Associated Checks

During the installation process, some of our features may install their own dedicated Checks to monitor the feature's status. For example, Managed Antivirus Check and Antivirus Update Check - Managed Antivirus (Bitdefender). These feature associated Checks are only added or removed when the feature is enabled or disabled and are excluded from selection when applying an Asset Tracking Only Monitoring Template.

Requirements for Asset Tracking Only

The following checks, tasks, features and settings must be turned off, or configured as specified, to classify a device as Asset Tracking Only and not fully managed:

  • No monitoring checks – all monitoring checks must be removed
  • No automated tasks – all automated tasks must be removed

    Feature associated Checks and Automated Tasks automatically added with a feature are exempt and can exist on Asset Tracking Only devices.

  • The 24x7 check frequency must be set as follows:
    • 30 minutes or slower for servers
    • 60 minutes or slower for workstations
  • Patch Management must be uninstalled
  • Take Control must be uninstalled
  • Remote Background Management must be uninstalled

    If a device with Patch Management, Take Control, or Remote Background Management enabled but then turned off, the device incurs a monitoring fee until the feature is removed and updated within the N-sight RMM Dashboard. For example, if a feature is turned off and the device is Offline, the device is charged until the removal is completed and reported back to the N-sight RMM Dashboard.

What do you want to do?