Behavior of a Workstation moved between Sites

The following information outlines the expected behavior when moving a workstation from Site 'A' to Site 'B' (regardless of whether the 2 sites are in the same Client or not).

For steps to move a device between Clients and Sites please see:  Reassign the Device to a different Client and/or Site

Backup & Recovery enabled at the Device level

  • Workstation is independently managed (setting On not Use Parent)
  • Moving the workstation from Site 'A' to Site 'B' does not change the current Backup & Recovery settings regardless of the installed edition (Documents or Professional)

Backup & Recovery enabled at the Global Policy level

  • Workstation is policy managed (setting Use Parent not On)
  • When moving the workstation from Site 'A' to Site 'B', the workstation inherits the policy settings for Site 'B'
  • Workstation Policy Action

    Site A

    Site B

     

    Documents

    Professional

    Workstation goes from Documents to Professional (no uninstall)

    Professional

    Documents

    Workstations uninstalls Backup & Recovery Professional, installs Backup & Recovery Documents

What do you want to do?