Switching between Documents and Professional Editions

We understand that customer requirements can change over time, and what precisely matches their needs at the moment may not necessarily be the case in the future. As such, for Windows devices you can change between the editions of Backup & Recovery deployed on your customer's workstations and laptops.

Existing backup handling depends on your new Backup & Recovery Package selection:

Migration Direction Backup Action
Documents to Professional Existing backup storage account is retained
Professional to Documents New backup storage account is created
Existing backups storage account is not used for the Documents backup and becomes inactive

Change from Documents to Professional

  1. Right-click on the Windows workstation or laptop in the North-pane of the Dashboard (or from the Workstation drop-down)
  2. Select Edit Workstation
  3. Navigate to the Backup & Recovery section
  4. Tick the radio button against Professional
  5. The next step is to configure the backup options
    1. From the Settings drop-down choose Use Policy Settings (On) (where available) to apply your default policy (configured in Settings, Backup & Recovery, Settings)
    2. Open the Backup Manager to configure the specific settings for the device, it will no longer use the policy
  6. OK to save and apply

Change from Professional to Documents

  1. Right-click on the Windows workstation or laptop in the north panel of the Dashboard (or from the Workstation drop-down)
  2. Select Edit Workstation
  3. navigate to the Backup & Recovery section
  4. Change the Setting: to Off
  5. This marks the current backup storage account as inactive.

    This inactive storage account is chargeable until removed from the Dashboard. For further information on inactive storage accounts and their handling, please refer to Backup Accounts - Inactive Backups

  6. OK to save and apply
  7. Please allow adequate time for the current instance of Backup & Recovery to uninstall from the Device
  8. Re-enable Backup & Recovery on the device and select the Documents option - a new backup storage account is created for the device

What do you want to do?