Send commands to Apple devices

You can send commands to Device Management for Apple enrolled Mac computers, iPhones, iPads, and Apple TVs. When the device receives the command, the action is completed or queued for processing, and you can view the result in the Command log.

The commands available to you depend on the permissions of your user role. For example, to use the Lock Device command for a mobile device your user role must have the Lock Device permission under Mobile Devices enabled. For more information see the Device Management for Apple section on Default system roles and their permissions.

Apple device supervision is required to issue some commands such as Shutdown Device and Instant Restart. For more information, see Apple device supervision.

Commands are queued for processing if the device does not have an internet connection or is turned-off when the command is sent.

To send a command to a device:

  1. On the N-sight RMM Dashboard North-pane Workstations, Mixed, or Mobile Devices tab.
  2. Right-click the target device and select Commands.

    The Commands option is available when a device is enrolled in Device Management for Apple.

  3. Select a command to send to the device. The available commands depend on your user role permissions, the device type, and whether an iOS device is supervised or not.
    Update OS Version command considerations:
    • DMA sends commands to instruct the device to download and/or install available updates. We cannot guarantee that the Apple device will obey and fulfill the commands.
    • Depending on the device configuration and enrollment, the end user may need to enter their admin credentials to run the command.
    • We tested the command with macOS 13 Ventura and iOS 16, where the process is most mature. The command may succeed on previous OS versions, but the latest OS version is downloaded and installed. For example, if you run the command on macOS 12, and it succeeds, it updates to macOS 13.4. Each older OS decreases the likelihood of proper function.
  4. If prompted, confirm the command.

    The command is sent to the device. The action is completed or queued for processing, and you can view the result in the Command log.

Available commands

macOS commands

Command Resulting action
Instant Restart Immediately restarts the workstation (Apple device supervision required)
Lock Device Remotely locks the workstation with a one-time PIN code
Remote Wipe Locks and then erases all data on the device.

When prompted, enter your N-sight RMM password to confirm the wipe command. The device locks after it receives the command and begins to wipe its contents.

To unlock the device after wiped, use the six-digit system PIN displayed in N-sight RMM. Record this password as it is only displayed when issuing the command to the device and after you navigate away from the dialog the PIN is no longer accessible.

Shutdown Device Immediately shuts down the device (Apple device supervision required)
Update Device Information Refreshes the device asset information in N-sight RMM
Update OS Version

Supported on macOS 13 and later. May be compatible with older releases.

Downloads or installs the latest Apple OS update based on the option you select

When an unsupervised device receives the Update OS Version command, the user is prompted for action rather than the command simply performing the action.

iOS commands

Command Resulting action
Clear Passcode Removes the passcode from the device
Instant Restart Immediately restarts the iOS device (Apple device supervision required)
Lock Device Remotely locks the device to prevent access
Remote Wipe Erases all data, including any attached SD cards, by resetting the device back to its factory default settings. When prompted, enter your N-sight RMM password to confirm.
Shutdown Device Immediately shuts down the device (Apple device supervision required)
Update Device Information Refreshes the device asset information in N-sight RMM
Update OS Version

Supported on iOS 16 and later. May be compatible with older releases.

Downloads or installs the latest Apple OS update based on the option you select

When an unsupervised device receives the Update OS Version command, the user is prompted for action rather than the command simply performing the action.

Related topics