Automatically uninstall the Monitoring Agent

When you no longer want to monitor a device, or a number of devices, you can remove the device(s) from the Dashboard by using the Delete option. For example, if you have an expired support contract and you no longer have access to the devices to run the uninstaller, you can automatically uninstall the Monitoring Agent.

Dashboard deletion or Agent Uninstalls are non-recoverable actions. When you confirm a deletion, all information stored in relation to the Client, Site or Device(s) is instantly removed from the database and the data is unretrievable.

Ensure that you verify the correct item is selected for removal before you enter the password and confirm the deletion.

To automatically uninstall the Monitoring Agent:

  1. Log into the Dashboard
  2. Go to the Servers, Workstations or Mixed pane
  3. Multi-select the devices for removal (Shift and left-click for a range, Control and left-click for specific devices)
  4. Right-click one of the selection or from the Servers, Workstations or Devices drop-down
  5. Select Delete <device-type> > Delete from Dashboard
  6. Verify the number of devices to be deleted
  7. Enter the password of the account you have logged into the Dashboard with to confirm deletion
  8. Click OK to apply

You can also remove devices by deleting their associated Client or Site from the Dashboard.

Although we run the uninstallers for the Agent and any installed features, there may be instances where some files and folders associated with the features are not removed from the device.

Prior to Windows Advanced Monitoring Agent 9.7.2, Mac Agent 1.2.0 or Linux Agent 2 when a device was deleted from the Dashboard its entries were only removed from the database, the Agent was not uninstalled from the machine. To remove the Agent you would have to run the uninstaller on the local machine or create a Group Policy removal policy (where the Agent was added via Group Policy).

However from Advanced Monitoring Agent 9.7.2, Mac Agent 1.2.0 and Linux Agent 2 when a device is deleted from the Dashboard it entries are not only removed from the database, but the Agent is automatically uninstalled from the device where the Agent was manually installed. From Windows Advanced Monitoring Agent v9.8.3 the automatic removal functionality was expanded to include those Agent that were initially installed via Group Policy.

Behavior when deleting devices from the Dashboard

Windows Advanced Monitoring Agent 9.7.2, Mac Agent 1.2.0 and Linux Agent 2 introduced the automatic removal of manually installed Agent.

Agent Version Dashboard Removal Automatic Agent Uninstall Group Policy Agent Uninstall
Linux pre-2 Yes No -
Linux 2 and above Yes Yes -

Mac pre-1.2.0

Yes

No

-

Mac 1.2.0 and above

Yes

Yes

-

Windows pre-9.7.2

Yes

No

No

Windows 9.7.2 and above

Yes

Yes

No

Windows 9.8.3 and above

Yes

Yes

Yes