Manage Recovery Locations

Permissions to modify storage locations to a Network Share are available for Reseller level and lower, for SuperUsers with Security Officer permissions only.

View Recovery Location Summary

A summary of information relating to each Recovery Location can be viewed one at a time from the Recovery > Recovery Locations page using one of four methods.

  1. Recovery Location name
    1. Select the recovery location name to open the Summary page
  2. Top bar menu
    1. Select the checkbox for the Recovery Location
    2. At the top of the Recovery Locations page, select Edit
    3. Switch to the Summary tab
  3. Location context menu
    1. Right-click on the Recovery Location to edit
    2. Select Edit
    3. Switch to the Summary tab
  4. Right hand menu
    1. Click the action item button for the Recovery Location, seen as three dots in a vertical line to the right of the location's storage drive
    2. Select Edit
    3. Switch to the Summary tab

Edit Recovery Location

Recovery Locations can be edited one at a time from the Recovery > Recovery Locations page using one of four methods.

  1. Recovery Location name
    1. Select the recovery location name to open the Summary page
    2. Switch to the Settings tab
    3. Make any required changes to the following aspects of the recovery location:
      • Customer - change the customer the storage location belongs to
      • Recovery Location Name - change the name of the machine or server used to store your device restores
      • Max number of parallel restores - manage the workload on the recovery machine by limiting the number of concurrent restores that can take place
      • Storage Location - set the recovery location to the appropriate type
        • Local Drive
          • The local path to the folder where your virtual machine files will be stored. This can be either a location at a drive, or the drive itself. Examples:
            • C:\Virtual_Machines
            • D:\
        • Network Share - Only available if all devices assigned to this recovery location are being restored to Local VHDX files, remove any devices restoring to Hyper-V on the recovery location to use Network Share
          • Network Share credentials
    4. Click Save
  2. Top bar menu
    1. Select the checkbox for the Recovery Location to edit
    2. At the top of the Recovery Locations page, select Edit

    3. Make any required changes to the following aspects of the recovery location:
      • Customer - change the customer the storage location belongs to
      • Recovery Location Name - change the name of the machine or server used to store your device restores
      • Max number of parallel restores - manage the workload on the recovery machine by limiting the number of concurrent restores that can take place
      • Storage Location - set the recovery location to the appropriate type
        • Local Drive
          • The local path to the folder where your virtual machine files will be stored. This can be either a location at a drive, or the drive itself. Examples:
            • C:\Virtual_Machines
            • D:\
        • Network Share - Only available if all devices assigned to this recovery location are being restored to Local VHDX files, remove any devices restoring to Hyper-V on the recovery location to use Network Share
          • Network Share credentials
    4. Click Save
  3. Location context menu
    1. Right-click on the Recovery Location to edit
    2. Select Edit

    3. Make any required changes to the following aspects of the recovery location:
      • Customer - change the customer the storage location belongs to
      • Recovery Location Name - change the name of the machine or server used to store your device restores
      • Max number of parallel restores - manage the workload on the recovery machine by limiting the number of concurrent restores that can take place
      • Storage Location - set the recovery location to the appropriate type
        • Local Drive
          • The local path to the folder where your virtual machine files will be stored. This can be either a location at a drive, or the drive itself. Examples:
            • C:\Virtual_Machines
            • D:\
        • Network Share - Only available if all devices assigned to this recovery location are being restored to Local VHDX files, remove any devices restoring to Hyper-V on the recovery location to use Network Share
          • Network Share credentials
    4. Click Save
  4. Right hand menu
    1. Click the action item button for the Recovery Location, seen as three dots in a vertical line to the right of the location's storage drive
    2. Select Edit

    3. Make any required changes to the following aspects of the recovery location:
      • Customer - change the customer the storage location belongs to
      • Recovery Location Name - change the name of the machine or server used to store your device restores
      • Max number of parallel restores - manage the workload on the recovery machine by limiting the number of concurrent restores that can take place
      • Storage Location - set the recovery location to the appropriate type
        • Local Drive
          • The local path to the folder where your virtual machine files will be stored. This can be either a location at a drive, or the drive itself. Examples:
            • C:\Virtual_Machines
            • D:\
        • Network Share - Only available if all devices assigned to this recovery location are being restored to Local VHDX files, remove any devices restoring to Hyper-V on the recovery location to use Network Share
          • Network Share credentials
    4. Click Save

View and Search Recovery Location History

A history of restores relating to each Recovery Location can be viewed one at a time from the History tab when looking from Recovery > Recovery Locations.

  1. Open the Recovery Location by clicking the Recovery Location name
  2. Switch to the History Tab

It is possible to search for the History of a single device using the given Recovery location by entering the Device name into the search function in the History Tab.

Delete Recovery Location

Deleting a recovery location will uninstall the recovery service and all devices which were using the deleted recovery location will be unassigned from the Standby Image plan.

To delete a single recovery location:

  1. Log in to the Management Console under a SuperUser account
  2. Navigate to Recovery > Recovery Locations
  3. Click menu action item button (indicated by the three dots in a vertical line) to right of location's storage drive, or right click the recovery location to view the context menu
  4. Select Delete recovery location

To delete single or multiple recovery locations:

  1. Log in to the Management Console under a SuperUser account
  2. Navigate to Recovery > Recovery Locations
  3. Select the checkboxes of any locations you wish to delete
  4. At the top of the page click Delete recovery location

Deleting a Recovery Location does not delete previously stored data. This restored data is kept on the device until manually deleted by the user.