Backup profiles in Management Console

Backup profiles let system administrators configure backup settings for multiple devices as one.

Backup profiles are available to the following types of customers: distributors, sub-distributors, resellers, end-customers and sites.

Profiles are supported for Windows, macOS and Linux backup devices

Two default profiles are available for use:

  • 1 hour RPO - For hourly backups
  • 24 hour RPO - For daily backups

Once a backup profile has been created, it cannot be moved to another partner. Profiles created at the reseller level can be applied to end-customers underneath this reseller, but profiles created at end-customer levels cannot be applied to other end customers or resellers.

When a profile is assigned to a device, the Performance tab of the Backup Manager GUI will no longer show the Abort backups and do not start backups when limited time frame is reached for these backup data sources option.

Pre- and post-backup scripts are not compatible with backup profiles, so once a profile is assigned to a device, the Scripts tab under Preferences will not be displayed.

Instructions

LocalSpeedVault settings in backup profiles

To prevent data loss caused by the profile applying the incorrect LocalSpeedVault credentials when not fully synchronized, LocalSpeedVault settings can no longer be applied in a profile.

The profile must be disabled before configuration of the LocalSpeedVault can be applied.

  1. Disable device profile
    • In Management Console, select device checkbox in the dashboard > Assign Profile > Choose no profile.
  2. Restart Backup Service Controller on affected device to apply the changes
  3. Alternatively, wait 15 minutes and the changes will be applied automatically

  4. Launch the Backup Manager and change the LocalSpeedVault details to the correct location and save
  5. Re-apply the profile
    • In Management Console, select the device checkbox in the dashboard > Assign Profile > Choose the profile you removed in step 1
  6. Once the LocalSpeedVault is fully synchronized, further changes can be made from the profile

Managing Profiles

Edit Existing Profiles

  1. Log in to the Management Console
  2. Select Profiles from the vertical menu on the left-hand side of the page

  3. Choose the Customer the Profile belongs to from the dropdown

  4. Click on the Profile name to edit
  5. The Profile will open on the panel to the right, make any required changes
  6. Save the changes at the bottom of the page

Add a Profile by Copying Existing Profiles

If you have an existing profile which you need to duplicate, this can be done by:

  1. Log in to the Management Console
  2. Select Profiles from the vertical menu on the left-hand side of the page

  3. Choose the Customer the Profile belongs to from the dropdown

  4. Find the Profile you need to duplicate and click the duplicate icon to the right of the profile name

  5. Once the profile has been copied, a banner will be displayed to advise the profile has been successfully cloned and it will appear in the Profiles list with the same profile name 'ExistingProfileName - clone'

  6. Make any required changes to the copied profile
  7. Click Save at the bottom of the page

Find a Profile ID and Version

Backup Profile IDs are generated automatically when the automatic deployment is enabled.

  1. Log in to the Management Console
  2. Select Profiles from the vertical menu on the left-hand side of the page

  3. Choose the Customer the Profile belongs to from the dropdown

  4. Click on the Profile name you need the ID or Version for

  5. The ID and Version number can be found at the top right of the page

Removing and Deleting Profiles

Remove a Profile

  1. In the Backup Dashboard module of the Management Console, select the devices to remove the profile from
  2. Click Assign on the toolbar, then Backup Profile
  3. Select No Profile from the dropdown
  4. Click Save.

Delete a Profile

  1. Log in to the Management Console under a SuperUser account
  2. Select Profiles from the vertical menu
  3. Find the profile you wish to delete
  4. Only those profiles that are not assigned to any devices can be deleted.

  5. Click the trashcan icon to the right of the profile name
  6. You will be prompted to confirm you wish to delete the profile. Click Remove
  7. Profiles that have been deleted cannot be restored. If you need a profile that has been deleted, you must recreate it manually.