Archiving backup sessions in Backup Manager
As you regularly back up your data using the Backup Manager, a series of backup sessions accumulates in the cloud. After a certain period, older sessions are cleaned to free storage space. The duration of this period is measured in backup sessions or days (depending on your product settings). If needed, you can keep selected backup sessions in the storage after their retention period expires. Such sessions will not be deleted (unless you choose so). The feature is called archiving. A reverse process is called archiving session cleanup.
If data is deselected in the backup selection, any version of this data stored in an Archive session will not be affected and so will be kept until a clean is done of the archive sessions.
To archive a backup session, you need to create an archiving task (Preferences > Archiving). The task will apply to the nearest backup session that starts after it.
Previously completed backup sessions cannot be archived.
- The archive task can be an individual or repetitive task.
- There can be only one archiving task for each data source per day (it is not possible to archive data belonging to the same data source several times a day).
- Open the Backup Manager for the device you wish to configure archiving on.
- Navigate to the Preferencestab.
- Go to Archiving on the left hand menu and click Add Archiving.
- Give your archive a name relevant to the frequency of the archive such as "End-of-month archiving" or "Bi-Weekly archiving".
- Set a time for the archive.
- Select the data sources to apply the archive to.
- Select the months you wish the archive to be applied to.
- Now select either
- Days of month: This will allow you to set the days of the month you wish the archive to be set, for example the 15th of the month and the last day
- Weekdays: This will allow you to set the day of the week you wish the archive to be set, for example every Monday.
This does not mean the archive will run at the exact time, but that the archive session will apply to the nearest backup that runs after this time.
If you want to run an archive more frequently than the Weekdays selection but you do not wish to use the Days of month selection (for example you wish it to be set for every Monday, Wednesday and Friday) you must create multiple archives and select each day per Archive.
You can easily change the task after it has been created. To do it, click on the name of the task. It will expand the settings and you will be able to start editing.
When an archiving task is not needed anymore, you can delete it. This will not make any difference to the backup sessions that have been archived through this task.
Recovering archived backup sessions
Data from archived sessions is recovered is the same way as from regular backup sessions. You will only notice that archived sessions have a special mark (A) in the Session time list.
Cleaning up unneeded archiving sessions
If you no longer want to keep an archived session in the storage, you can clean it up. The (A) mark gets removed from the session. Then the session is cleared from the storage and is no longer available for recovery.
- Go to Preferences > Archiving.
- Click Cleanup. (You will see the list of all archived sessions that have passed their retention periods).
- Select the sessions to clean up.
- Click the Cleanup button at the bottom.
- Confirm your intention to clean up the selected sessions.
The action cannot be undone. Once a session has been cleaned up, there is no way to get its contents back.