Delete a policy

Delete a policy to remove its configuration from all targeted devices. After you delete a policy, other applicable policies may take effect automatically.

Before you begin

Make sure you have:

  • Write access to delete policies.
  • Access to the service organization that contains the policy.

To delete a policy:

  1. Go to Ecoverse > Configuration> Policies.
  2. On the Policies page, select the service organization.
  3. Locate the policy you want to delete.
  4. From the Actions menu for the policy, select Delete.
  5. When prompted, select the checkbox and select Delete again to confirm deletion.
    • When you delete a previously deployed policy, its status changes to Pending deletion. The policy remains applied to assets until you deploy the deletion.
    • When you delete a policy that has not been deployed, the policy is removed from the policy grid after you deploy the deletion.
  6. After deleting one or more policies, select Deploy from the Actions menu to permanently remove the policy and withdraw it from targeted assets.

    If the policy was not deployed, it is removed from the policy grid.

You cannot restore a policy after you delete it. A policy in the Pending deletion state cannot return to the Deployed or Ready to deploy state. The system removes deleted policies from view but retains them for audit and recovery purposes.