Apple device supervision

When an Apple device is supervised it means the device is enrolled in DMA. Supervision provides a higher level of device management, allowing additional restrictions, configurations, and customizations that are not available on standard devices. Device supervision is required to issue some commands such as Shutdown Device and Instant Restart.

The following devices are automatically supervised when their serial numbers display in Apple School Manager or Apple Business manager. These devices use Automated Device Enrollment to enroll in Device Management for Apple.

  • iPhone with iOS 13 or later
  • iPad with iPadOS 13.1 or later
  • Mac computers with macOS 10.14.4 or later
  • Apple TV with tvOS 13 or later

Mac computers are also supervised if they:

  • Run macOS 11 or later and are enrolled in MDM using Device Enrollment or Automated Device Enrollment
  • Are upgraded to macOS 11 or later and the enrollment in MDM is approved by a local administrator account

You can also supervise iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV devices manually by using Apple Configurator, if the:

  • Device is in your physical possession
  • iPhone or iPad is connected to a Mac running Apple Configurator
  • Apple TV devices are on the same Wi-Fi network and in close proximity to the Mac
  • If you supervise a device manually, the device is erased and all data is lost. For more information about supervising an iPhone, iPad, or Apple TV manually, see the Apple support documentation.

Is this iPhone or iPad already supervised?

To determine if an iPhone or iPad running iOS 9.3 or later is supervised, look for this message at the bottom of the Lock Screen: This [iPhone or iPad] is managed by your organization.

You can also go to Settings > General > About and look for this line of text under the name of the device: This [iPhone or iPad] is supervised. [Organization name] can monitor your internet traffic and locate this device.

Updated: Mar 26, 2024